Edwards Moving & Rigging has been a driving force in the creation of a three-year apprenticeship program for Kentucky high school students and military through the state’s Labor Cabinet.

Apprenticeship ps

Edwards’ Danny Cain teaches fall protection to a new apprentice.

“Our industry is like many others,” said Danny Cain, safety/risk manager, Edwards Moving & Rigging. “We have an aging workforce and to stay ahead of the curve, companies like Edwards need to have a strong succession plan to replace those that are retiring and leaving our workforce. In an ever-aging industry, one of the most important benefits of this program is employee recruitment and retention. A registered apprenticeship is an employer-driven model that combines on-the-job learning with related classroom instruction that increases an apprentice’s skill level and wages. Apprenticeship programs are often referred to as a ‘earn and learn’ type model as apprentices receive a paycheck from Day One of their participation.”

Leading the way

Kentucky has a proactive governor and Labor Cabinet secretary who are both 100 percent behind promoting careers in trade -oriented professions, such as specialized transportation and rigging, according to Cain. Kentucky is one of four states that are leading the way to promote career opportunities in various trades.

“There was a lengthy review of our training curriculum that had to meet both federal and state guidelines for apprenticeship programs,” Cain said.

The apprentice is on a progressive pay scale and is rewarded for successfully completing their coursework and other requirements. The three levels for the three-year program are Basic Rigger, Intermediate Rigger and Advanced Rigger. There is also curriculum addressing specialized transportation and the apprentice is exposed to and learns about a host of specialized transportation topics.

“Statistics show that not all high school students have a desire to pursue a college degree,” said Cain. “For those that do, they end up after four or five years with incredible debt ($50,000 plus with their first job on average only paying $32,000) that takes years to overcome. For every $1 that an employer spends in an apprenticeship program the ROI for that investment is approximately $1.47. This apprenticeship is like going to college, in this case a trade school where they not only learn certain skill sets for a long-term career but are getting paid.”

Kentucky area high schools have KEES (KY Educational Excellence Scholarship) money available to students based on their GPA. In the past these earned dollars were only earmarked for attending college. Effective January 1, 2018, these monies can be applied to state approved apprenticeship programs. This allows Edwards to use certain KEES scholarship funds to bring in expert trainers in various rigging fields to conduct training for apprentices and Edwards employees.

Strong partnership

“Futuristically speaking, this program has the potential to be a pipeline into high schools for the purpose of promoting a career in our industry as well as to expand our program in numbers,” said Cain. “Having a strong partnership with both our state’s Labor Cabinet and the fact that we actively participate in our local high schools keep the Edwards name out in the community.”

Kentucky also has several military

bases with thousands of veterans leaving the military each year and looking for long-term careers. These individuals bring to Edwards an incredible amount of skills learned in the military as well as the kind of personality traits that every employer is looking for, Cain said. Veterans are honest, dependable, reliable, team oriented, hard working and have faced a lot of unique challenges having served their country so gallantly. With an ever-growing and expanding industry, there are plenty of job opportunities available.

“Registered apprenticeship training is a vital part of the economic well-being of this state and our country,” said Cain. “The better trained our workers are, the better our businesses can compete in today’s global market. Apprenticeship training is a proven on-the-job training system that will produce better trained employees that are more efficient, motivated and productive.”

ACRA Enterprises www.acratech.com
All Crane Training USA www.actuinc.com
All Test & Inspection www.alltest.com
AmCrane www.amcranes.com
America Crane Training Services www.americacranetraining.com
American Crane Training & Consulting www.americancranetraining.com
American International Crane Bureau (AICB) www.cranebureau.com
American Test Center www.atctest.com
Apprenticeship & Skill Improvement Program www.asiplocal150.org
Arxcis www.arxcis.com
Associated Training Services www.operator-school.com
Atlantic Crane Inspections Service www.atlanticcrane.com
Barth Crane Inspections www.craneoperator.com
BC Association for Crane Safety www.bcacs.ca
California Crane School www.californiacraneschool.com
Cairo Marine Service www.cairomarineservice.com
CH C&R Consultants www.chcrane.com
Columbus McKinnon Training www.cmworks.com/training
Construction Safety Experts www.safety-xperts.com
Crane Certification Services www.cranecert.com
Crane Exam www.craneexam.com
Crane Industry Services www.centeredonsafety.com
Crane Inspection & Certification Bureau (CICB) www.cicb.com
Crane Inspection Services www.craneinspection.com
Crane Institute Certification www.cicert.com
Crane Institute of America www.craneinstitute.com
Crane Operators Certification and Inspections www.cociinc.com
Cranes 101 www.cranes101.com
Crane Safety Associates of America www.cranesafetyassociates.com
Crane Tech www.cranetech.com
Crane U www.craneu.com
Crane Wise Certifications www.cranewisellc.com
Cranecoach www.cranecoach.com
Crawford Custom Consulting www.crawfordcustom.com
Domson Engineering & Inspection www.domson.ca
Equipment Safety Services www.maxboom.com
Equipment Training Solutions www.equipmenttrainingsolutions.com
Falck Safety Services www.falck.com
Global Crane & Rigging Certification www.globalcrane.com
Global Environment Network www.My-DVBE.com
Hite Services Limited www.hiteservices.com
IMPACT www.impact-net.org
Industrial Training International www.iti.com
Industrial Training Solutions www.industrial-training-solutions.com
Industry Training Authority www.itabc.ca
Institute for Safety and Health Management www.ishm.org
International Training & Safety www.trainmesafe.com
IPT Publishing & Training www.iptbooks.com
Ives Training & Compliance Group www.ivestraining.com
KC Training Technology www.kctrainingtechnology.com
Lift-It Manufacturing www.lift-it.com
Morrow Training Center www.morrow.com
National Commission for the Certification of Crane Operators (NCCCO) www.nccco.org
National Crane Inspection www.nationalcraneinsp.com
National Crane Services www.natlcrane.com
Nationwide Crane Training www.nationwidecranetraining.com
NCCER www.nccer.org
North American Crane Bureau www.cranesafe.com
Occupational Safety Training Systems www.ostsinc.com
Operating Engineers Training Institute www.oetio.com
Operator Network www.operatornetwork.com
Overton Safety Training www.overtonsafety.com
Pellow Engineering Services www.donpellow.com
Professional Service & Repair www.psrinc.biz
Quad City Testing Laboratory www.testlab1.com
R Spec Crane Inspectors www.cranedecals.com
Safety Provisions www.hardhattraining.com
Safety Resources Unlimited www.sruinc.org
Sensible Safety www.sensiblesafety.com
Southern Apprenticeship & Training www.southernapptraining.org
Sylvan Enterprises www.sylvanent.com
The Center for Construction Research and Training www.cpwr.com
The Crane School www.thecraneschool.com
The Safety Zone www.safety-zone.com
Total Crane Services www.totalcraneservices.com
Total Equipment Training www.totalequipmenttraining.com
Tower Crane Inspection Bureau www.towercraneinspectionbureau.com
Tower Crane School of Phoenix www.craneexam.com
TSC Training Academy www.tsctrainingacademy.com
Turner Safety www.steveturnersafety.com
West Coast Training www.heavyequipmenttraining.com
Working Class Heroes Safety www.wchcranesafety.com

Select training, certification and inspection services companies/organizations*

























Delivered directly to your inbox, World Crane Week contains all the latest news, product launches and show reports from the global crane and transportation industry.

Sign up for free


Delivered directly to your inbox, World Crane Week contains all the latest news, product launches and show reports from the global crane and transportation industry.

Go to Newsletters